Primary Education is from Class - I to IV and Secondary Education is from Class - V to X (Junior High or Upper Primary stage is from class - V to VIII and High School stage is Class - IX and X) and Class-XI and XII constitute the Higher Secondary stage.


The entire School Education system has a dual control. The Syllabus and Curriculum as well as final evaluation are administered by the West Bengal Board of Primary Education, West Bengal Board of Secondary Education, West Bengal Council for Higher Secondary Education & West Bengal Council of Rabindra Open Schooling in their respective areas. The recognition and affiliation parts are also looked after by the said autonomous bodies under the overall guidance of the School Education Department.
The general administration as well as monitoring and supervision are done by the District Inspectorate of Primary and Secondary Education under the control of the Directorate of School Education. The financial aspects as well as the service benefits of the teachers and staff are being administered by the Department of School Education through its Directorate / Inspectorate / DPSC. The School Education Department also gives much importance to new recognition of schools, setting up of new schools, upgradation of schools and also setting up of Anglo-Indian Schools through the issuance of ‘No Objection Certificates’. The Department of School Education is interested in expansion of Oriental Studies namely, Sanskrit Education and improvement of Methodology of teaching for the professional development of teaching community in both Primary and Secondary sector, with the help of SCERT, different Boards,Primary Teacher’s Training Institutes and DIETs.


For details please download "Right to Education Act, 2009".


For details please download "Available Infrastructure Document".